Course 2 – April 2024

Heidi Haaviks Online Course

Welcome to this online course on using chiropractic science to improve performance, strength, and function. I will teach you how to use the Brain Model of Chiropractic Care.

Thank you for taking on this challenge. This will be a unique opportunity for you and your team to master the Brain Model of Chiropractic, develop your confidence in communicating the science of chiropractic, and grow the practice of your dreams. We hope you enjoy this course and would love to hear how you go. At any time, please feel free to email us at support@chiroshub.com.

Week 1: – May 13 to 19

Zoom Recording 1 – 7am NZT


19.00
6 Lessons

BS2.01 Introduction to the Neuroplasticity Model

94 minutes – this class covers the major changes in neuroscience over the past 20 years

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 2: May 20 – 26

19.00
6 Lessons

BS2.02 Two Models of the Vertebral Subluxation

65 minutes – the latest research evidence examining what a vertebral subluxation is.

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 3: May 27 June 2

19.00
5 Lessons

BS2.03 The Neurophysiology of the Subluxation

60 minutes – the consequences of spinal injury and how it affects the brain function.

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 4: June 3 – 8

19.00
6 Lessons

BS2.04 Adjustments affect the Prefrontal Cortex

61 minutes – how adjustments impact the processing of the prefrontal cortex in the brain.

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 5: June 10 – 16

Assignment 1 – Using the Animations

Due by June 11

Assignment 1 – Part 1 of 3

Familiarise yourself with the animations on Chiros Hub in the various categories. Create notes on the video animations from at least one category.

Download and complete the Video Categories Document (below) and enter key words and/or phrases about the content of that video, and, enter in the patient questions that each one of the videos can answer. See example below:

Download Video Categories (MSWord) Use Google Doc

If you are using the Google Doc, make sure to select File > Make a Copy to get full edit access to the document.

Alternatively, simply complete the form below:

Fill out my online form.

Assignment 1 – Part 2 of 3

Once you are familiar with at least one video animation category and at least several of the videos within that category, show at least one patient one of these videos on your practice screen, iPad, smartphone or email them the link to it.

Assignment 1 – Part 3 of 3

Part 3 of this assignment is to try to use at least one of the first three ANALOGIES with patients:

Try to use the first three ANALOGIES with patients:

AnalogyFound in Video
1.Subluxations representing lights going out or fuses blowing in a dark corridorChiropractic Affects your Brain
2. How the adjustment is rebooting the computerChiropractic Affects your Brain
3. How symptoms don’t develop until the 1000th straw breaks the proverbial camel’s backSymptoms are the tip of the Iceberg

Download the Patient Feedback Form below and get feedback from at least one patient on whether or not this information is useful to them.

Download Feedback Form (MSWord)

Email it to support@chiroshub.com by the due date of June 11.


Week 6: June 17 – 23

Live Zoom Workshop June 18

Option 1

7:00 am to 8:30 am New Zealand Time

(5:00 a.m. AEST, 3:00 p.m. EDT, 2:00 p.m. CDT, 12:00 p.m. PDT, 8:00 p.m. BST, 9:00 p.m. CEST)

Access Zoom Class

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/81467344978

Live Zoom Workshop June 18

Option 2

12:00 pm to 1:30 pm New Zealand Time

(10:00 a.m. AEST, 8:00 p.m. EDT, 7:00 p.m. CDT, 5:00 p.m. PDT, 1:00 a.m. BST, 2:00 a.m. CEST)

Access Zoom Class

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/84541292512

19.00
6 Lessons

BS2.05 The Impact of Stress on the Brain and Health

71 minutes – How stress and traumatic experiences negatively impact our brain function and health.

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 7: June 24 – 30

19.00
6 Lessons

BS2.06 Communicating Chiropractic’s impact on the Brain

69 minutes – how to communicate the science about how stress negatively impacts our health.

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 8: July 1 – 7

19.00
7 Lessons

BS2.07 Pain is created in the Brain

50 minutes – the latest science tells us that pain is created in the brain – to warn us about danger.

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 10: July 8 – 15

19.00
7 Lessons

BS2.08 Understanding Chronic Pain

65 minutes – how to communicate the latest contemporary understanding of what chronic pain is.

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 10: July 15 – 21

19.00
7 Lessons

BS2.09 Connection between Stress, Pain, Sleep and Mental Health

61 minutes – how stress plays a major role in the development of chronic pain.

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 11: July 22 – 28

19.00
8 Lessons

BS2.10 The Brain, Pain and the Neuroplastic Effects of Chiropractic Care

61 Minutes – we examine the function of the spine and how the brain controls movement

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 12: July 29 – August 4

Assignment 2 – Using the Research Articles

Due July 30


Assignment 2 – Instructions

Ensure you print out several chiropractic research summary articles from https://chiroshub.com/research/ and then choose one you like, and leave them around your Office for the next few weeks. Also, send out your first email with this information, plus the PDF as an attachment to your entire email list – and collect the feedback and/or questions you get for us to discuss at the next live session. Email it to support@chiroshub.com.

Download Feedback Form (MSWord)

Week 13: August 5 – 11

Live Zoom Workshop August 6

Option 1

7:00 am to 8:30 am New Zealand Time

(5:00 a.m. AEST, 3:00 p.m. EDT, 2:00 p.m. CDT, 12:00 p.m. PDT, 8:00 p.m. BST, 9:00 p.m. CEST)

Access Zoom Class

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/86121409764

Live Zoom Workshop August 6

Option 2

12:00 pm to 1:30 pm New Zealand Time

(10:00 a.m. AEST, 8:00 p.m. EDT, 7:00 p.m. CDT, 5:00 p.m. PDT, 1:00 a.m. BST, 2:00 a.m. CEST)

Access Zoom Class

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/83743331654


Week 14: August 12 – 18

19.00
5 Lessons

BS2.11 The Somatosensory Neuroplastic effects of Chiropractic Care

53 minutes – the known Somatosensory neuroplastic effects of chiropractic care.

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 15: August 19 – 25

19.00
5 Lessons

BS2.12 The Motor Control effects of Chiropractic Care

67 minutes – the known motor control neuroplastic effects of chiropractic care.

0% Complete
0/0 Steps

See more…


Week 16: August 26 – September 1

Catch Up on any outstanding classes /assignments

Week 17: September 2 – 8

Assignment 3 – Practical Workshop

Due September 3


Assignment 3 – Instructions

Over the next 20 minutes, try to agree on answers to the following seven typical patient questions individually or in small groups of two or three.

Hint: Keep the language simple and easy to understand but accurate according to science.

  1. What is a subluxation?
  2. Why do we get subluxated?
  3. How do subluxations affect me?
  4. How would I notice if I was subluxated?
  5. What happens when you adjust me?
  6. What are the typical effects of adjustments?
  7. What is that crunching/popping/cracking sound when you adjust me?
Download Feedback Form (MSWord)

Find the Answers

The following animations on ChirosHub.com are an excellent place to start for the above questions. The CA course will also link to these videos within their classes on ChirosLearningHub.


Week 18: September 9 – 15

Catch Up on any outstanding classes /assignments.

Complete all your classes and assignments and schedule a date to do Assignment 4 with your team.


Week 19: September 16 – 22

Assignment 4 – Workshop Assessment

Due September 17


Assignment 4 – Workshop Instructions

Email workshop answers to support@chiroshub.com

Once you have the model answers to Assignment 3, set a time to meet with your staff. Before this practical team workshop, let your staff know they can watch any of their online classes again. They can also read the scripts to the relevant animations if that helps.

In pairs over the next 30 minutes, role-play, answering the following seven patient questions that you have found the answers to in Assignment 3.

One can pretend to be the patient, and the other can pretend to be the Chiro Assistant or chiropractor who answers the patient’s questions. The person asking the questions and listening to the answers can also be the assessor of the answers provided by the CA or chiropractor. Rotate so that each of you gets to be in both roles. Use the Marking rubric below and rate the answers. Rate according to accuracy, confidence, and use of analogies in their answers, if possible.

During this practical session, you will get a feel for how well your CAs understand the materials and how comfortable they are answering these questions. Discuss with your staff the model answers. They should not sound scripted, so they should come from them in their own language. This role-play task is essential for your CAs to ‘own’ this material themselves and to be able to answer such questions from patients. It will also help you feel comfortable with the language of the brain model of chiropractic care.

Download Marking Sheet (MSWord) Download Marking Sheet (PDF)

Week 20: September 23 – 29

Catch Up and reflect on everything to date.

Week 21: September 30, October 1st

FINAL Zoom Workshop October 1

Option 1

7:00 am to 8:30 am New Zealand Time

(5:00 a.m. AEST, 3:00 p.m. EDT, 2:00 p.m. CDT, 12:00 p.m. PDT, 8:00 p.m. BST, 9:00 p.m. CEST)

Access Zoom Class

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/88437255264

FINAL Zoom Workshop October 1

Option 2

12:00 pm to 1:30 pm New Zealand Time

(10:00 a.m. AEST, 8:00 p.m. EDT, 7:00 p.m. CDT, 5:00 p.m. PDT, 1:00 a.m. BST, 2:00 a.m. CEST)

Access Zoom Class

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/82567007156